Saturday, February 25, 2023

Officials, marketing partners and competitors wrapped up the 2022 racing season at the Vado Speedway with the annual awards banquet on Saturday, February 25.

Rob Moseley of Los Lunas came out victorious in the S&J Automotive USRA Stock Car points for 2022. Jonathan Burton of Las Cruces was right behind in second and Bryan Bennett from Tulorosa was third.

Fito Gallardo came out on top in the Rancho Milagro USRA Modified points for 2022. With 6 wins and 21 starts, right behind him in second was his son, Jake Gallardo. Hot on his heels was Royal Jones finishing third. All three on the podium are Las Cruces natives.

Caleb Stelzig of Albuquerque, who has been racing non-winged sprints for two years, took home the gold in the Sunset Grill 360 Non-Winged Sprint Cars points for the 2022 season. Fellow Albuquerque native Caleb Saiz was second, and behind him was Rick Ziehl of El Paso. There were 38 racers in this class.

In the Johnstone Supply Super Trucks, Christy Barnett of El Paso, Texas, took home the 2022 points title. Coming in second place was Dawson Manicki of Las Cruces, and trailing him was the champ’s husband, Sherman Barnett of El Paso.

Zach Rodriguez of Las Cruces came out triumphant in the Hulsey Racing INEX Legends Cars for the 2022 season at Vado Speedway Park. With a passion for all things motorsports, you can catch Zach when he is not racing behind the camera as our awesome track photographer. Right on his tail was Dusty Riggs of Hatch with Mike Money from Duncan, Arizona, finishing third.

Rumbling down the Vado Speedway Park in the Anthony Sosa Roofing Late Models, Devan Smith of Las Cruces took first place in the points for the 2022 season. Right behind in second was Eric McNutt of Las Cruces and Jeremy Stamper of Las Cruces was third.

Racing his way to the finish, Jermey DuBois was the champion in the S.H. Automotive Pure Stocks for the 2022 season. Michael Hartman of Las Cruces took runner-up honors and Diego Alvarado of El Paso was third.

Taking home the gold for the 2022 season in the Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mods was Justin Allen of Las Cruces, who has 13 years behind the wheel in this class. In second was El Paso’s Lucas Ward and third went to former USRA Stock Car National Champion Donavon Flores of Las Cruces.

View the full points standings —> HERE