NEXT EVENT  Friday, February 24
Open Practice

Cain, Riggs, Wofford Sweep Zia Classic Weekend; Stelzig and Alvarado Also Victorious

Print this page
November 5, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Austin Hood Photography

Austin Hood Photography

The Vado Speedway Park wrapped up its 2022 season with the second and final night of the inaugural Zia Sprint Car Classic and just like previous night, Wes Wofford topped the 305 Winged Sprint Cars, Dusty Riggs won his second straight Legend Car feature and Josh Cain bested the Stock Car vs. Super Truck Challenge for the second night in a row as well to complete the weekend sweep.

The S.H. Automotive Pure Stock main event was on track first for their 20-lap event with track point leader Jeremy DuBois and Friday night winner Michael Hartman in a very tight point battle on the final night of the season. DuBois drew the pole for the feature race, but it was Jimmy Marta who took the lead on the opening lap with Hartman racing from 4th into the lead a lap later. It looked as if Hartman was going to be able to walk away for his second straight win and sweep the weekend, but 5th starting Diego Alvarado had other plans, racing into second early and then battling with Hartman out front. Alvarado was able to overtake Hartman for the top spot and then was able to hold off Hartman’s challenges throughout the reminder of the race to pick up the victory on the final night of the season. Hartman crossed the finish line in second with Marta a solid third just behind. Chase Ortiz raced from 9th up to 4th and Sharrii Minks rounded out the top five in her #67. DuBois had a rough night, but crossed the finish line in 7th, securing the 2022 track title for his efforts.

The Hulsey Racing INEX Legend Cars were up next with Friday night runner up Dave Smith on the pole in his #11D. Smith took the lead from fellow front row starter Mike Money on the start and set sail out front with Friday night winner Dusty Riggs racing from third into second on the opening lap as well. Riggs moved in on Smith to pressure him for the lead and eventually was able to slip by into the top spot and race away for his second consecutive Legend victory and a weekend sweep for his efforts. Smith ran second for the second night in a row, capping off a great way to end the season for his team. Eric LaCroix raced from 10th to 3r, just ahead of Zach Rodriguez, who clinched his first ever track title with his 4th place run. Josh Jackson crossed the line fifth.

The Sunset Grill 305 Winged Sprint Car feature was a good one for the second night in a row and saw Caleb Saiz jump into the lead from the pole with 2021 track champ Lorne Wofford in tow. Saiz ran away from the field out front early with Wofford searching for a way to close the gap. Friday night’s winner Wes Wofford raced in the third spot for the majority of the first half of the race as the top two drove alone out front. A mid race caution bunched the field and on the start Lorne Wofford got by Saiz into the top spot, but jumped the start, which relegated him back to third on the final restart of the night. Wes Wofford had also gotten by Saiz on that previous restart so he restarted out front with just two to go and raced to his second straight victory. Saiz held off Lorne Wofford for second with CJ Hulsey and Dylan Harris finishing inside the top five. Harris was light at the scales, elevating Royal Jones to fifth and solidifying his 2022 Sprint Car track title in the process.

Josh Cain completed the weekend sweep of the Stock Car vs Super Truck Challenge as he raced from his 6th starting spot to take top honors for the second night in a row in his #3J. The battle out front early was impressive between Rob Moseley, Jonathan Burton and Josh Reynolds as they ran nearly three wide out front on several occasions with Moseley leading the way early. Several cautions kept the field tight and after Jake Gallardo and Bryan Bennett both had to go to the tail for visits to the work area, they both charged back through the field to battle with the leaders as well. Cain got by Moseley for the lead and once out front, set sail as he did the previous night to race to the win with Gallardo rallying from last to second in the late stages of the race to come home with runner up honors. Burton ran third ahead of early leader Moseley and Bennett, who also charged from the tail to finish fifth.

Caleb Stelzig sat on the pole for the second night in a row in the POWRi Non Winged Sprint Car feature and after getting upside down on the opening lap last night, he was determined to better himself tonight and he did just that, racing out front during the entire 25-lap distance to pick up the win, which in turn solidified the 2022 Non Wing Track Championship and the 2022 NMMRA Series Championship in the process. With Stelzig out front, the battled waged on behind him with Rick Ziehl storming into second early and running solidly in that position, while Dustin Cormany, Shon Deskins and Wayne Siddell battled hard for third during the first half of the race. Behind the leaders, incredible battles were taking place as well as Robert Marfia, Caleb Saiz and Michael Fanelli were on the move and racing hard for top five runs, all the while 22nd starting JR Bonesteel was working through traffic as well, and appeared in the top five late in race too. Stelzig raced to the win with Ziehl in second, while Bonesteel completed the 22nd to 3rd charge to cross the finish line just ahead of Marfia in fourth and Saiz, who rounded out the top five.

Results: https://vadospeedwaypark.com/results

The Vado Speedway Park will wrap up the 2022 calendar with 8 big nights during the second annual Christmas Village, which will feature holiday lights, holiday displays, inflatables, Christmas Shoppes, visits from Santa, Buddy the Elf, Elsa and Grinch, plus campfires, holiday music and more. Event dates are December 2nd, 3rd, 9th, 10th, 16th, 17th, 22nd and 23rd from 6p-10p.