NEXT EVENT  December 9-10, 2022
Vado Speedway Park Christmas Village

Rio Grande Waste Services Victory Lane Greets Repeat Winners

Print this page
September 17, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Jonathan Burton won the S&J Automotive USRA Stock Car main event. (Amanda Wisner Photo)

Jonathan Burton won the S&J Automotive USRA Stock Car main event. (Amanda Wisner Photo)

Fresh off a weekend off, racing action got back underway at the Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM on Saturday, September 17th for the track’s annual First Responder Appreciation Night. When the night concluded, all five divisions saw repeat feature winners on the season who graced Rio Grade Waste Services Victory Lane.

The S&J Automotive USRA Stock Car main event was on track first for their 20-lap event and it was Jonathan Burton who got to the lead first from his 4th starting spot and lead from green to checkered with heavy pressure from Rob Moseley, Josh Cain, Josh Reynolds, Jake Gallardo and Bryan Bennett. The race was intense and saw some great action throughout the entire event, but Burton was up to the challenge and raced to the win ahead of Cain, Moseley, Reynolds and Barnett in the top five.

The Hulsey Racing Legend Cars were up next and saw some great battles with RJ Garay leading early before Cale Riggs took control and looked as if he may race to his first ever feature wins until sliding up the track off of turn four and allowing his dad to race by into the lead. Once Dusty got to the lead he lead the remainder of the event, but not without more pressure from behind from Josh Jackson, who looked to the inside of Riggs on several occasions until contact was made sending Riggs spinning and sending Jackson to the tail. Once the race restarted, Riggs raced back to the lead and was able to hold off Jerod Candelaria to the checkered for the win. Vanessa Robinson ran inside the top five all event long and finished third with Sean Salazar racing from 16th to fourth and Zach Rodriguez working his way from 14th to fifth when the checkered flag flew.

The Jackson Compaction POWRi 305 Winged Sprint Cars were up next for their 25-lap main and Justin Lasiter got to the lead from the pole early and lead the field for the first half of the race until Dylan Harris blasted around the cushion into the lead and began to pull away with Lasiter and Jesse Baker battling for second. Harris continued to lead while Caleb Saiz working his way forward from his 8th starting spot. A mid race caution flew bunching the field once again and Saiz was able to capitalize on the restart and took over the top spot and drove away into the night with the lead and off to the win. Baker ran second with Harris holding off CJ Hulsey and Royal Jones for top five runs.

The Johnstone Supply Super Trucks had Stefnie Smith on the pole and she got out front early and lead the opening lap with Dirk Squibb, Art Viramontes, Sherman Barnett and Dawson Manicki batting out front inside the top five. Rusty Bowen was the driver that emerged early and raced from 10th into the lead and paced the field, while Christy Barnett, Devan Smith and Fito Gallardo were all working their way forward from their 13th, 14th and 15th starting spots. With Bowen out front, Smith, Gallardo and Barnett worked into the top five and began to pressure Bowen for the lead. Smith was able get by his teammate first into the lead and then lead the final few laps en route to the win from his 14th starting spot. Barnett raced to second from 15th and Gallardo finished third from 13th. Manicki and Dickie Gorham rounded out the top five.

The Rancho Milagro URSA Modified 25-lap feature was the final event of the night with Christy Barnett and Tom Georges on the front row. Barnett took the lead on the opening lap and lead the event for the first several circuits with Georges, Fito Gallardo, Nick Rivera and Terry Tipton all battling just behind Barnett’s #44. The event was plagued with multiple cautions early keeping the field close but once racing action got back to green, Gallardo was able to power around Barnett into the lead, bringing Jake Gallardo with into second. Jake tried to move in on his dad, but Fito was just too strong out front and raced to the win. Jake ran second with Rivera, Jimmy Ray and 13th starting Todd Harper rounding out the top five.


The Vado Speedway Park gets back to action on Saturday night, September 24th with Topless Night where the Late Models, Modifieds and B-Mods will race without roofs. Gates open at 5pm and racing begins at 7:30.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.