NEXT EVENT  Friday, February 24
Open Practice

Salazar Storms to Legend Win while Dart Dashes to Super Truck Victory

Print this page
August 21, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Austin Hood Photography

Austin Hood Photography

Once again, the state-of-the-art Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM was back in action on Saturday, August20th with another Hot City Nights promotion and the highlights of the evening were first time feature wins by Sean Salazar in the INEX Legends, Jacob Dart in the Super Trucks and Richard Wilbee in the Winged Sprint Cars.

Diego Alvarado got back to his winning ways during the 20-lap S.H. Automotive Pure Stock feature event after racing from his 10th starting spot and tracking down early race leader Chase Ortiz to make a three-wide pass in lapped traffic for the lead and then hold off a charging Michael Hartman to race to his 4th feature win of the season in the process. Hartman rallied from 12th to get to the second spot and got by Miguel Rincon for the runner up spot late in the race to claim second. Rincon held on to third, edging Ortiz and Jimmy Marta in the top five.

Sean Salazar bested the field of Hulsey Racing INEX Legends from his 8th starting spot en route to his first career Vado Speedway Park feature win behind the wheel of a Jackson-owned #37. Salazar, who started on the outside of the 4th row, sliced through traffic and got the lead mid race before driving off to a commanding advantage before having to hold off a challenge from teammate Josh Jackson during the late stages of the non-stop 20-lap event. RJ Garay led the opening lap of the feature from his pole starting spot with heavy pressure from Angel Garcia early until Salazar got by and stretched the lead. Dusty Riggs and Zach Rodriguez were working forward from their 10th and 12th starting spots respectively and got into the top five mid-race, but the race ran non-stop to the end and Salazar was able to race to his first ever Vado win in the process. Jackson ran a close second with Riggs, Mike Money and Rodriguez in the top five.

Third in the feature order was the Jackson Compaction POWRi 305-Winged Sprint Cars and after apparent winner Robert Herrera was disqualified in post-race tech, Richard Wilbee was awarded the win, his first ever in the Winged Sprint Car division at Vado. Herrera started third and after a first lap crash jumbled up the field, he was able to take the lead from pole sitter Justin Lasiter and drive off to a convincing feature win, while Wilbee and Lasiter battled for second for much of the 20-lap event. Dylan Harris and CJ Hulsey were also having a good race for fourth for much of the feature race as well. Up front, Herrera ran off with the win, while Wilbee was able to hold off Lasiter for second at the stripe. Harris rallied from the tail after a tire change to cross the line fourth with last week’s winner Hulsey fifth when the checkered flag flew. Herrera was later disqualified in post-race tech, elevating Wilbee to the win, Lasiter to second, Harris to third, Hulsey to fourth and Aydan Saunders to a top five finish.

The Johnstone Supply Super Trucks were the next feature of the night and Jacob Dart lead every lap on his way to his first career Super Truck feature win at Vado for his efforts. Dart, who started on the outside of the front row got the lead on the initial green flag and raced out front during all 20 laps, hoping off early pressure from Dawson Manicki and Art Viramontes, while Christy Barnett and Fito Gallardo were working their way from the 6th row toward the front. Dart never faltered out front, hitting his marks lap after lap en route to the victory, while Manicki held off Viramontes for the runner up spot at the line. Barnett got to fourth and Gallardo got to fifth when the checkered flew, rounding out the top five runners.

The Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mods were the final feature on track and 7th starting Donavon Flores raced from the fourth row to the lead and ran away with his second straight B-Mod feature win in the process. Hector Barraza got the lead on the start from pole sitter Jose De La Fuente and lead early, while De La Fuente and Justin Allen battled for the runner up spot. With Barraza out front, Flores quickly got into the top five and used the bottom of the speedway to get into the top three before the mid-point of the event. Flores continued his climb through the field and was able to wrestle the lead away and quickly put some distance on the field once he got into clear air. Allen was also able to get by Barraza into second and tried to chase down Flores out front, but Donavon was too strong and raced to his second straight win. Allen came home second with Barraza third at the line. Lucas Ward ran fourth and Israel Ortega rounded out the top five.

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action on Saturday, August 27th with our annual Kid’s Bike Night, where 100 bikes will be given away to some lucky kids during intermission. Gates open at 5 and racing begins at 7:30.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.