NEXT EVENT  Saturday, August 20
College Night & Dona Ana County Hot City Night

MVT Fireworks Night Sees Five Repeat Winners

Print this page
July 9, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Fito Gallardo won the Rancho Milagro USRA Modified main event. (Pugs Graphics Photography)

Fito Gallardo won the Rancho Milagro USRA Modified main event. (Pugs Graphics Photography)

The state-of-the-art Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM was back in action on Saturday, July 9th with the track’s annual MVT Night at the Races featuring the area’s biggest and best fireworks display and a five-division racing program as well.

After preliminary action was completed, the first feature of the night was the S.H. Automotive Pure Stock feature event, which saw Jaden Manicki-Gallivan hop to the top spot from the front row and drive away quickly from the field out front. With Manicki-Gallivan driving away from the field, all eyes were on 19th starting Jeremy DuBois and 20th starting Michael Hartman, who were rapidly working their way from their tenth row starting spots on their way to the front. Both drivers were able to pounce on Manicki-Gallivan out front and over take the top two spots during the mid-point of the 20-lap event. Once out front, the two perennial front runners battled for the lead in the closing stages, but Hartman was able to race to the checkered flag first, racing to his sixth win of the season in the caution-filled event. DuBois crossed the line in second with Sharrii Minks third, Chris Dominguez fourth and 14th starting Ashlee Buck rounding out the top five.

Christy Barnett continued her mastery of the Johnstone Supply Super Truck division as she raced to her fifth straight Super Truck feature win of the season after starting 14th and racing her way through the field into the top five early and then battling with Rusty Bowen, Sherman Barnett and early leader Art Viramontes for the top spot. After the half way point of the race, Viramontes got crossed up, allowing Barnett to race by into the lead, which she never relinquished on her way to the win. Bowen got back by Sherman at the end for second with Dawson Manicki rallying from the tail to fourth, just ahead of fifth place finishing Mike Garcia.

The third feature of the night was the Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mod main event, which was a good one from start to finish. Pole sitter Jose De La Fuente took the lead on the start and drove off to a bit of a lead early while Dustin Smith quickly drove from 7th up to second and began to chase down De La Fuente for the top spot. The duo was in a great battle for the lead, while Jesse Haynie and Justin Allen moved in on Eric McNutt for third just behind. De La Fuente got crossed up coming off of turn four allowing Smith to blast by into the top spot, which he would hold for several laps out front until Haynie was able to work by on the bottom of turn two to snatch the top spot and race off to the win. Smith crossed the line in second with Allen third, McNutt fourth and De La Fuente recovering for a firth place finish for his efforts.

The S&J Automotive Stock Cars were up next with Sherman Barnett leading the field to green from the inside of the front row. Barnett took the lead early and looked to drive away from the field as Rob Moseley and Jonathan Burton were working their way forward to join Barnett in a battle for the lead. Both drivers were able to drive by Barnett into the top two spots and then engaged in a great race for the top spot with Burton taking the lead and leading the majority of the event, only to see Moseley come roaring back on the bottom and steal the top spot late in the race and run off with his third win of the season. Burton ran second with 9th starting Devon Jobin working his way to third at the line ahead of 8th starting Bryan Bennett and Barnett, who rounded out the top five.

The final event of the night was the Rancho Milagro USRA Modifieds for their 25-lap finale with track record holder Tim Tharp on the pole. Tharp took the lead at the drop of the green but 4th starting Nick Rivera quickly powered by into the lead on lap two. With Rivera out front, Royal Jones, Jimmy Ray and Carlos Ahumada Jr. moved in to do battle for the second spot, but after a Tharp spin and contact on the ensuring restart, Ahumada restarted at the tail as well, shuffling up the top five. On the restart, Rivera took back off out front with Jones and Ray battling for the second spot with Fito Gallardo, who worked his way from 7th up to battle inside the top five. Gallardo was able to blast around the top side of the speedway and race by into the lead, which he would grow lap after lap, opening up a near 11 second advantage at one point before a late race caution bunched the field with just five laps remaining. Again, on the restart Gallardo drove off into the lead uncontested with Jones and Ray now battling with 25th starting Xavier Ortega, who had charged through the field and was now in contention for a top finishing spot. Gallardo ran off with the win with Jones holding off Ortega for second at the checkered. Ray and Ahumada Jr, from the tail, rounded out the top five.


The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action on Saturday, July 16th with another Hot City Night event. Gates open at 5 and racing begins at 7:30.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.