NEXT EVENT  Saturday, July 9
MVT Fireworks Night

Repeat winners grace Rio Grande Waste Services Victory Lane at Vado

Print this page
May 21, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Michael Hartman won the S.H. Automotive Pure Stock main event.

Michael Hartman won the S.H. Automotive Pure Stock main event.

The Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM was back in action on Saturday night, May 21st for another Hot City Night event, which saw all five features won by repeat winners on the season.

The first feature of the night was the S.H. Automotive Pure Stocks with Tyler Tallmon and Jimmy Marta sharing the front row. Marta took the lead on the start and built up a commanding advantage over the first five laps until a caution bunched the field, which allowed Michael Hartman, who started 12th and was already into the top three to take advantage and drive around Marta into the lead. Once out front, Hartman distanced himself from the rest of the field and raced to his third Pure Stock feature win of the season for his efforts over Sharrii Minks, who finished second for the second straight week and 15th starting Chris Mijares, who crossed the finish line in third.

The S&J Automotive Stock Car feature was the second main of the night and Bryan Bennett once again proved that he was the class of the field tonight, racing from his 10th starting spot to another feature win when the checkered flag flew. Jose Salazar took the lead from the outside of the front row on the start before Kenny McCoy and Rob Moseley moved in to battle for the lead, while Bennett was working his way from the fifth row. Bennett’s #10 was glued to the bottom side of the speedway and he was able to race by into the lead and drive away with the win. Moseley got by McCoy into second and Jonathan Burton was able to steal third at the line as well.

The Rancho Milagro USRA Modified feature was the third in the running order tonight with Greg Gorham and Christy Barnett on the front row. Barnett led the field into the first set of turns, but third starting Jake Boles got the hole shot and raced from the inside of row two into the lead as the field raced down the backstretch on the opening lap. With Boles out front, sixth starting Jake Gallardo was quickly working his way forward, appearing in third after a battle with Terry Tipton early in the race. Once Gallardo got to third, he quickly raced by Barnett into second and set his sights on Boles out front. With the J7 and J17 battling for the lead, Tipton, Barnett and Ricardo Olague Jr were trying to hold off Fito Gallardo and Carlos Ahumada Jr. inside the top five, but all eyes were on the battle out front as Gallardo was able to sweep by Boles into the top spot and drive away with his second straight Modified win at Vado. Fito was able race from 8th up to 2nd with Tipton edging Ahumada for third at the line.

The Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mod main event was the fourth on the schedule with veteran Deryl Lackey sitting on the pole for the 20-lap feature event. Lackey led the field into turn one, but just like the Modified before it, third starting Jose De La Fuente got the jump and raced by into the early lead. With De La Fuento showing the way, 8th starting Dustin Smith, 9th starting Jesse Haynie and 10th starting Justin Allen were on the march forward and all three worked by 4th running Peyton Gallardo and then swept by De La Fuente to claim the top three running positions at the race’s mid-point. A multitude of cautions slowed the field often, forcing laps to be cut and a pair of green-white-checkered situations to end the event. Haynie came out of top of a last lap scramble for his fourth win of the year, followed by Smith second and Allen third. Gallardo capped off a career-best fourth place finish, just ahead of first-time visitor Cameron Martin in fifth.

The final event of the night was the Johnstone Supply Southwest Super Truck feature event, which saw Christy Barnett race from her 13th starting position and charge by early race leader Rusty Bowen and late race leader Devan Smith to claim the win in the 20-lap event. Bowen took control early in the feature and was holding off the field for the majority of the event until a caution allowed both Barnett and Smith to sweep by and claim the top two spots. Barnett then used the extreme low side of the speedway to race by Smith into the lead late in the race to claim the win. Smith crossed the line second with Sherman Barnett working into third late in the race.

Full results: vadospeedwaypark.com/results

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this coming Saturday and Sunday nights, May 28th and 29th with the track’s Memorial Day Weekend Doubleheader. Gates open at 5 and racing begins at 7:30 both nights.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit VadoSpeedwayPark.com.