NEXT EVENT  Thursday, October 20
Open Practice

Jackson, Jones, Dubois & Barnett Bag Bunnies at Vado’s Egggstravaganza

Print this page
April 16, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

Royal Jones won the POWRi Jackson Compaction 305 Winged Sprint Car main event.

Royal Jones won the POWRi Jackson Compaction 305 Winged Sprint Car main event.

The annual Egggstravaganza event at the Vado Speedway Park was held on Saturday, April 16th with Jeremy DuBois, Royal Jones and Josh Jackson winning Easter-themed giant chocolate Easter Bunny trophies and Christy Barnett doubling up by winning the Super Truck and B-Mod mains.

The S.H. Automotive Pure Stocks had a very entertaining three car battle for the lead for the majority of the 15-lap event between Jaden Manicki-Gallivan, Michael Hartman and eventual winner Jeremy DuBois. Dubois and Hartman charged forward from their 12th and 13th starting spots respectively to battle with early leader Manicki-Gallivan out front as the trio ran nose to tail and side by side for the majority of the event, at times battling three wide out front. DuBois sat poised to take over the top spot late in the race and raced off to his third straight Pure Stock victory ahead of Hartman and Manicki-Gallivan, although Manicki-Gallivan ended up light on the scales, handing third to Robert Dominguez after post-race tech.

The Hulsey Racing Legends were up next with Cale Riggs pacing the field to the green flag from the pole. Riggs took the lead on the start, but 3rd starting Sean Salazar quickly pounced and overtook the top spot early in the event. Salazar began to pull away a bit from the competition while 8th starting Zach Rodriguez and 10th starting Josh Jackson were working their way through traffic toward the front. Rodriguez got to second and began to reel in Salazar and pressure him for the lead until a restart allowed Jackson to slip by into second and then race into the lead and drive off for the win. Rodriguez crossed the line second with Dusty Riggs racing from 7th up to 3rd at the checkered.

The POWRi Jackson Compaction 305 Winged Sprint Car feature event was third in the running order with Justin Lasiter and Vance Wofford rolling the field to the green from the front row. Lasiter took the lead from the pole and lead the opening lap before 3rd starting Derek DeMartino zipped by on the high side into lead and quickly disappeared from the pack out front. DeMartino opening up a huge advantage over a great battle for second between Lasiter, Royal Jones and John Carney II, who was sitting in for Cesar Fuentes for the night. With DeMartino in complete control, the best battle was for second with Carney, Jones and Lasiter swapping second through fourth as the laps clicked off. The field was slowed with just a pair of laps to go for a spin, which bunched the field for a green-white-checkered restart and saw DeMartino slip out of the groove slightly, which allowed Jones and Carney to capitalize and race by into the top two spots. Jones would hold off Carney on the final lap for the victory. Carney raced to the line second with early leader DeMartino third at the stripe.

Bobby Candusso lead the Johnstone Supply Super Trucks to the green flag and quickly began to battle with Sherman Barnett, Rusty Bowen and Jacob Dart out front, while 13th starting Christy Barnett and 14th staring Devan Smith were working their way from their mid-pack starting spots until Christy Barnett spun with a flat tire, bringing out the caution and bunching the field up once again. Sherman Barnett lead on the restart, with Bowen, Smith, Cliff Evrage and Dawson Manicki were in a five-car battle with Dart, while Christy Barnett blasted from the tail of the field after her tire change and quickly moved into a battle at the front of the field. Once Christy got to second, she used the middle and outside grooves to work her way by the race leaders to take command and drove off to an impressive feature win from the tail of the field. Bowen crossed the line second with Sherman Barnett third, although he was light on the scales, which handed third to Devan Smith.

The final event of the night was the Hacienda Carpet & Tile B-Mod feature and the 24-car field was set to do battle for 20-laps.  Sherman Barnett and Jay Hill lead the field to the green flag, but a crash on the start caused some chaos and re-stacked the field. A second and then a third caution before the first lap was completed got things off to a rough start, but once the race went green, the action was intense out front between 4th starting Christy Barnett and 15th starting Aasa Flores, who, along with 6th starting Lucas Ward were quickly on the move to battle out front. Several more cautions changed the complexion of the race, but all eyes were on the side-by-side battle between Barnett and Flores in the final stages of the race. Barnett was glued to the bottom and Flores was using a sweeping maneuver around the outside to try to build up momentum to take the top spot. Flores and Barnett ran side by side of the last few laps of the race until a lapped car took the high line away from Flores on the final circuit, solidifying the win for Barnett. Flores ran second with Ward edging Mingo Jauregui and 18th starting Donavon Flores in the top five.

Full results: vadospeedwaypark.com/results.

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this coming Saturday night, April 23rd with another Hot City Nights event where residents of Las Cruces will be admitted into the grandstand area for just $5 with a valid id. Gates open at 5 and racing begins at 7:30.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit VadoSpeedwayPark.com.