NEXT EVENT  Friday, February 24
Open Practice

Cormany Comes Out on Top of Chaotic Non-Wing Sprint Car Main

Print this page
April 3, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

James Racing Photography

James Racing Photography

The first Hot City Nights promotion of the season at the Vado Speedway Park was hotly contested on Saturday, April 2nd with Dustin Cormany coming out on top of a while 4-car, last lap scramble to win a thriller of a POWRi 360 Non-Winged Sprint Car main event. Bryan Bennett, Jeremy DuBois, Aydan Saunders and Dawson Manicki also topped their respective feature races during the racing program.

The S.H. Automotive Pure Stocks were up first with a full field of 25 competitors on hand for the main event, which saw Chris Dominguez and Michael Hartman pace the field to the green flag. Hartman jumped out front and lead from green to checkered, withstanding a number of caution flags which kept the field bunched together and ultimate shortened the race due to time constraints, but Hartman was able to keep opening night winner Jeremy DuBois at bay to cross the finish line first. DuBois ran second with Kelly Starr rounding out the top three finishers. Unfortunately for Hartman, he was disqualified in post-race tech, handing DuBois his second win of the season and elevating Starr to a runner up finish.

The Hulsey Racing Legends were up next with Sean Salazar sitting on the pole for the 20-lap main. Salazar and Kyle Burnett battled early for the lead but Eric LaCroix worked his way into the top spot early in the event and paced the field until Dave Smith and Zach Rodriguez worked into top the two spots. As they fiercely battled side by side out front, 11th starting Aydan Saunders was slicing his way through traffic and made it a three-car battle for the lead just past the midpoint of the race. Saunders would eventually work his way past into the lead and never look back on his way to his first win of the season. Smith would hold off Rodriguez for second at the line and Rodriguez would complete the podium with a third place finish.

The POWRi Sunset Grill Non-Wing Sprint Cars were next and their 25-lapper would end up being the race of the night. Arizona visitor Shon Deskins sat on the pole and jumped into the race lead at the drop of the green with Rick Ziehl and defending Vado track champion Colt Treharn in tow. The trio broke away from the field quickly and put on a whale of a show out front, swapping slide jobs lap after lap while chasing down the back of the field. Once in lapped traffic, Deskins distanced himself a bit from Ziehl and continued to work through the back of the field as the laps wound down. Just as the leaders took the 2 to go signal, Deskins made contact with a car he was trying to lap and both cars came to a halt in turn two, sending them both to the tail and elevating Ziehl to the lead with just a green-white-checkered situation lying ahead. On the restart, Ziehl led the field into turn one, while Treharn and Dustin Cormany made it three wide heading to the white flag. On the final lap, Treharn tried a slider in turn three, while allowed Cormany, Ziehl and 11th starting Rickey Hood to dive under him and created a four car, four-wide, scramble to the checkered with Cormany coming out on top in wild fashion.

The S&J Automotive Stock Cars were on track next and this 20-lapper proved to be a good one as well with Shane McNutt, Josh Reynolds, Jason Josselyn, Sherman Barnett, Rob Moseley and Jonathan Burton battling out front early on, while Bryan Bennett was trying to work his way toward the front in his #10. The leaders were putting on a great show out front, running two and sometimes three-wide for the top spot for the majority of the race with McNutt leading but not without heavy pressure from behind. Several mid race caution flags kept the field tight, but after some contact, three of the top five were eliminated, sending McNutt, Reynolds and Josselyn out of the race on separate incidents. Bennett assumed the top spot and completed his run from 10th to win and was followed to the checkered flag by Moseley and Burton.

The final event of the night was the Johnstone Supply Super Trucks and Dawson Manicki raced quickly from the inside of the second row the lead and dominated the event for his first main event win. While Manicki was racing alone out front, 13th starting Christy Barnett was working her way through the field and appeared in second, but was a straightaway behind Manicki as the laps wound down. Barnett would cut into the advantage somewhat, but Manicki was not to be denied his first win and raced uncontested to the victory. Barnett ran second with Esteban Reyes in third.

Full results: vadospeedwaypark.com/results

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this coming Saturday night with another Hot City Nights event where residents of El Paso will be admitted into the grandstand area for just $5 with a valid id. Gates open at 5 and racing begins at 7:30pm.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.