NEXT EVENT  Friday, February 24
Open Practice

Smith Snags Season Opener Late Model & Super Truck Wins

Print this page
March 6, 2022  |  by Chris Stepan

James Racing Photography

James Racing Photography

The 2022 Military Appreciation Season Opener was held on Saturday, March 5th with a five-division program on tap headlined by the Jackson Compaction 305-Winged Sprint Cars which saw Mike Archuleta race to his first win of the season in his #40x.

The new S.H. Automotive Pure Stock division was up first for their 15-lap feature event and it was a good one. Diego Alvarado sat on the pole with Jeremy DuBois on his outside. DuBois took the lead on the start with Jimmy Skoog and Alvarez battling for second early. Skoog was able to secure the runner up spot and the set his sights on DuBois out front. Skoog went screaming on by into the lead and extended his advantage until a late race caution flag bunched the field up and allowed DuBois to reclaim the top spot on the restart and hold on for his first career feature win. Skoog ran second with Alvarado rounding out the top three finishers at the line.

The Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mod main event took the track next for their 20-lapper with Donavon Flores pacing the field to the green and jumping out into the lead on lap one and never looking back. A caution-plagued event, which only ran 12 of the scheduled 20 laps due to the time limit, saw Flores dominate out front all event long, while Justin Allen, Mingo Jauregui and Dustin Smith battled for the runner up spot early. As Flores raced alone out front, pulling away after each caution on his way to the victory, Allen ran second with Jesse Haynie working his way forward from 12th to secure third when the checkered flag flew.

The Jackson Compaction POWRi 305-Winged Sprint Cars returned to the speedway with Mike Archuleta and Jesse Baker sharing the front row for the 25-lap main. Archuleta and Baker put up a good battle out front for the lead early in the race while Royal Jones ran third early. Jones joined the battle for the top spot, while Caleb Saiz and Dylan Harris, who started 19th, were on the charge into the top ten and then into the top five just past the mid-point. As the laps wound down, Archuleta drove off from Jones a bit with Baker a solid third, while Saiz and Harris stormed into the top five. Archuleta went on to win with Baker, Jones, Sais and Harris, from 19th to 5th rounding out the top five.

Devan Smith topped an entertaining Johnstone Supply Super Truck feature which saw him lead the majority of the event but he was forced to deal with heavy pressure first from teammate Rusty Bowen, then from both Christy and Sherman Barnett in the middle and late stages of the 20-lapper. Smith never faltered and raced to his first feature win of the season over Sherman Barnett, who ran a close second and Bowen, who finished a solid third at the checkered.

The final event of the night was the Anthony Sosa Roofing DIRTcar Late Model main and after suffering a terminal issue in his heat race, Devan Smith jumped into a backup car, started last and raced his way to the front and to victory lane for his second feature win of the night. Eric McNutt took the lead at the start of the feature and raced out front with pressure from Javier Zapien Jr early in the going until Smith rallied from the tail to third. As the leaders were battling for the top spot, Zapien and McNutt got together triggering a caution and allowing Smith to race off into the lead. Zapien stormed back from the tail to finish second with Brandon Cruse rounding out the podium.

Full results: https://www.myracepass.com/events/392172/races

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this coming weekend with a pair of events featuring the Winter Meltdown, featuring USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, USRA Stock Cars and INEX Legends on Friday and Saturday nights. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5 and racing starting at 7:30pm both nights.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2022 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.