Grady Gasses to POWRi 360 Win at Vado

Print this page
September 4, 2021

Josh Grady won the POWRi 360 Winged Sprint Car main event.

Josh Grady won the POWRi 360 Winged Sprint Car main event.

The opening night of the Vado Speedway Park’s Labor Day Doubleheader kicked off under stormy conditions, but the event went on as planned and saw 11th starting Josh Grady from Farmington, New Mexico race from his 6th row starting spot to claim the 25-lap POWRi Winged 360 Desert Series main event for his efforts to highlight the show.

The Claimers were up first for their 15-lap main event and polesitter Jake Franzoy jumped to the lead early in his #1I machine with early pressure from Jimmy Skoog out front. While out front, Franzoy and Skoog battled, but 10th starting Jeremy DuBois was on the move quickly and raced into the lead with ease and appeared to be driving away until disaster struck and he lost a wheel, ending his bid for the win. On the restart, 14th starting Ryder McCutcheon took command and raced away for yet another win, ahead of 13th starting Carlos Garcia, 17th starting Cole Turner, Jimmy Marta and Franzoy in the top five.

Aydan Saunders got back to his winning ways in the INEX Legends main event after racing forward from his 11th starting spot to outduel Josh Jackson and early race leader Dusty Riggs for the top spot. A great battle ensued for the majority of the race out front between Riggs, Jackson, Saunders, Zach Rodriguez and Peter Smith, who started 18th, but tonight was Saunders’ night as he outran the field for the win. Jackson ran second with Rodriguez third, Dave Smith fourth and Riggs settling in for fifth at the checkered flag.

The POWRi 360-Winged Sprint Cars returned to action tonight and as mentioned, saw 11th starting Josh Grady race to victory to open up the holiday weekend. Eric Wilkins took the lead at the start of the 25-lap feature and was running well out front while Caleb Saiz and Stevie Sussex III were in a great early-race battle for the runner up spot. Saiz and Sussex were trading slide jobs for second, while Grady was working his way up from the 6th row. Behind the leaders, Dylan Harris, Lorne Wofford, Wes Wofford and Jesse Baker were in a good battle for fifth throughout the mid-point of the event but Grady was able to sneak by and began battling with Wilkins for the lead late in the going. As the laps wound down, Grady drove to the inside of Wilkins for the top spot and raced off with the win. Harris snuck by Wilkins late as well for second, with Wilkins third, Saiz fourth and Lorne Wofford fifth.

After a first corner spin by polesitter Adrian Barraza, Rick Garcia and Daniel Sanchez shared the front for the Stock Car feature and the duo battled early out front for the top spot, while Cameron Martin put heavy pressure on the leaders. 8th starting Jonathan Burton and 14th starting Bryan Bennett were working their way through traffic. Burton got to the lead first and took off out front while Bennett and Martin battled for second. Burton went on to win with Bennett edging Martin for second, while Josh Reynolds rallied from the tail to fourth and 15th starting Dustin White came home fifth.

The final event of the night was the B-Mod main and it proved to be very entertaining. Israel Ortega took the lead at the start from the pole and raced away out front on the bottom, while Lucas Ward, John Carney and Hector Barraza were putting on a great show for second. The trio ran three-wide on multiple occasions for the runner up spot as Aasa Flores, Dustin Smith, Rob Moseley and Mingo Jauregui were in a great battle just behind as well. As the race wound down, Flores took over the top spot and began to look to the checkered flag, while Smith and Moseley were in a great battle for second. Flores crossed the finish line first with Smith nipping Moseley at the line for second, while Jauregui and Ortega rounded out the top five. Flores was disqualified later in tech, lifting Smith to the victory.

Full results: https://www.myracepass.com/events/350892/races

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action tonight, Sunday, September 5th featuring the POWRi 360-Winged Sprint Cars, along with USRA B-Mods, USRA Stock Cars, INEX Legends and Claimers. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5 and racing starting at 7:30pm.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.