NEXT EVENT  Thursday, October 20
Open Practice

Winners from 21st, 14th, 13th, 11th and 7th plus a 26th to 2nd run Highlight VSP Action

Print this page
July 31, 2021  |  by Chris Stepan

Ryder McCutcheon won the Claimer main event.

Ryder McCutcheon won the Claimer main event.

The second Meet the Driver’s Night of the season was held with a season-high 112 cars in the pit area on a beautiful Saturday night, with action featuring the USRA Modifieds, USRA B-Mods, INEX Legends, Southwest Super Trucks and Claimer divisions.

After qualifying races were complete and the fans finished the Meet the Drivers portion of the program, the Claimers were up first and as expected, Daniel Sanchez Jr. and Ryder McCutcheon resumed their season-long battle in the main event. Stefnie Smith lead the field to the green and there was an early battle out front between her and Miguel Rincon for the top spot, while 19th starting Sanchez Jr and 21st starting McCutcheon were charging through the field. Sanchez got to the lead first and began to stretch it out until a pair of late-race cautions bunched the field up and allowed McCutcheon to work along side Sanchez for the lead. Ryder was able to slip by into the top spot and hold it to the checkered from his 11th row starting position! Sanchez crossed the line second but was disqualified in tech, moving Jaden Gallivan to the runner up spot, with Rincon third, Ray Abbott fourth and Alfred Hicks in fifth.

The Super Trucks were up next on the running order with Esteban Reyes and Russell Allen pacing the front row. Allen got out front on the start and lead early until 7th starting Jason Privette came roaring up and stole the lead before the mid-point of the event. 13th starting Christy Barnett was working her way forward as well and appeared in the top five mid-race and began to pressure the leaders out front. On a late race restart, Barnett was able to overtake the lead and race off to the victory with Rusty Bowen charging from 10th to 2nd, ahead of Privette, Lloyd Duffey and Devan Smith, who rounded out the top five.

14th starting Fito Gallardo sliced the through the USRA B-Mod feature field with ease during the 20-lap main to drive by his competition and dominate the event after starting in the seventh row. While Fito was working his way through the field early, Duane Murphy was leading early, while Gallardo, Dustin Smith, Mingo Jauregui and others were working their way toward the front. Once Fito got to the lead, he checked out, but Jauregui was also able to get by Murphy late in the race and tried to challenge Gallardo on a late race restart, but Fito was too strong, racing to the win. Jauregui ran second with Murphy third, Smith from the tail after a lap one tire change to fourth and Christy Barnett from 16th to 5th at the checkered.

Lane Wright and Todd Robertson paced the Legend car field to the green flag and Robertson, fresh off his first heat win of the season earlier in the night, took the lead on the opening lap, but a hungry pack of Josh Jackson, Aydan Saunders and Zach Rodriguez were in a tight battle for second early. An early race caution for Jackson bunched the field up and then another for a disabled Rodriguez machine kept the field tight and allowed Saunders to take the lead momentarily until 11th starting Jason Irwin worked his way through the field to the lead, ahead of teammate Dustin Tilbury, who started 16th. The duo would race out front ahead of 14th starting Peter Smith to the checkered. Jackson rebounded from the tail to 4th and Dusty Riggs capped off a top five fun in fifth.

The final event of the night was the 27-car USRA Modified feature and the fans were treated saving the best for last for sure as Christy Barnett jumped out front from the pole and lead early with Jonathan Ortega and Jake Gallardo providing heavy pressure early. Ortega and Barnett ran side by side for the lead for several laps until Gallardo made it a three-car battle and was able to assume the top spot on a restart. Once Jake was out front, he led the remainder of the event for the win, but the racing was intense behind him. Fito Gallardo, started 26th and stormed through the field into the top five early and began to battle with Jimmy Ray, Nick Rivera, Xavier Ortega and Travis Tipton for a top five spot, but he wasn’t content there, and continued his march forward. On a late race restart, he stole second away and tried to challenge Jake for the lead, but Jake was too strong out front picking up the win. Fito completed the 26th to 2nd run with Ortega third, Ray fourth and Rivera fifth when the checkered flag flew.

Full results: https://www.myracepass.com/events/350871/races

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this Saturday, August 7th with another Hot City Nights event where fans from Alamogordo, Tularosa, La Luz and Cloudcroft with be admitted into the grandstand area for just $5 with a valid id. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.