NEXT EVENT  Thursday, October 20
Open Practice

Chaves Charges to First Super Truck Win While Irwin Outlasts Legend Field

Print this page
June 26, 2021  |  by Chris Stepan

Another Hot City Nights event was held at the Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM on Saturday, June 26th with several new winners and a pair of photo finishes to cap off a great night of racing action.

The Claimer main event was the first to take the track after intermission and at the end of a crash-filled 15-lap affair, 10th starting Ryder McCutcheon outlasted the field to pick up his third feature win of the season for his efforts. 8th starting Daniel Sanchez Jr got to the front first and looked as if he was going to race to another win, but Cole Turner, who started 9th got to the inside of Sanchez off of turn four and stole the lead just past the half way point of the race, but the pair made contact, sending Turner hard into the wall and sending Sanchez to the tail of the field. From there, McCutcheon drove away out front and picked up the win. Gabriel Ledesma, Miguel Rincon, Jeremy DuBois and Wayne Stroud, who was in his first night of racing, rounded out the top five.

Jason Josselyn raced from the 5th row to claim his second USRA Stock Car victory of the season during the 20-lap event. A great race took place in the early going of the event between Daniel Blaeser, Josh Reynolds, Garrett Stearns, Rick Garcia, Shane McNutt and Josselyn until Jason cleared traffic and set sail out front in the lead. 16th starting Bryan Bennett was working his way through the field as well and got to Josselyn at the end of the race, but wasn’t quite strong enough to overhaul the race-long leader. Josselyn picked up the win, followed by Bennett, Stearns, McNutt and Reynolds in the top five.

The Super Trucks were up next on the running order 6th starting Javie Chavez was not to be denied his first ever Truck win tonight. He started 6th in the feature and worked his way around Esteban Reyes, Russell Allen and Todd Froats early to claim the top spot and then began to drive off and distance himself from the field lap after lap. 15th starting Christy Barnett was quickly slicing her way through the field and appeared in third just past the half way point of the 20-lapper. Barnett was turning faster lap times than Chavez as the laps wound down and a late race caution set up a green-white-checkered shootout between the top two. On the restart, Chavez took back off out front, but Barnett gave it one last ditch effort and pulled even with Chavez as the two raced off of turn for to the checkered flag. Chavez withstood Barnett and won in a photo finish by 0.003seconds in the closest Super Truck finish in the track’s history. Rusty Bowen crossed the line with a third place finish, just ahead of Sherman Barnett and 14th starting Lloyd Duffey.

First time Vado Speedway Park visitor Jason Irwin made the trek from Albuquerque, NM pay off as he raced from the 12th starting spot to win the main event going away over Josh Jackson, Aydan Saunders, Dustin Tilbury and Peter Smith after the 20-lap main was over. Irwin, typically an asphalt racer, jumped in a dirt Legend car for the first time, and proved to be up the challenge by racing his way to the front and picking up the win. Jackson, and Saunders, who started 11th, tried their best to chase him down, but Irwin was strong out front and ran off with his first VSP victory in the process.

Once again, the Rancho Milagro USRA Modifieds saved the best for last and put on a thriller of a show during the 25-lap feature event to cap off the night. Tom Georges and Jimmy Ray paced the field to green and thrilled the crowd during the first five circuits racing side by side and being nearly even across the stripe every lap until a lap five caution bunched the field. On the restart, Fito Gallardo slipped by Ray into second and went to work to steal the lead from Georges a lap later. Once out front, Fito tried to drive away from the field, while 7th starting Nick Rivera, Georges, Ray and Royal Jones battled inside the top five. Gallardo continued to lead out front with Rivera working his way by into the runner up spot with ten laps to go. Jake Gallardo also appeared in the top five for the first time as well. A restart with ten to go set up a barn burner of a finish with Gallardo and Rivera battling hard out front and Jake Gallardo sliding up into the third spot over the final few laps. With the white flag waving, Gallardo continued to work around the top of turns one and two, with Rivera glued to the bottom of the speedway. The duo raced down the backstretch on the final lap to settle the win amongst themselves and after Gallardo dove to the bottom entering turn three, he drifted across turn four, opening the door for Rivera to make a last push to try to steal the win at the line, but Gallardo was able to use his momentum and nip Rivera for the win by just 0.055 seconds in the second photo finish of the night. Jake Gallardo ran third with Ray and Goerges in the top five.

Full results: http://vadospeedwaypark.com/results

The Vado Speedway Park will be back off on Saturday, July 3rd, but will be back bigger than ever on Saturday, July 10th with MVT Night at the Races featuring the area’s biggest and best fireworks display and some great racing action as well. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5. The track will have music on the concourse all night as well.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.