Vado Speedway Park - Gallardo Doubles Up - Wins Mod Main; Extends B-Mod Win Streak To Four Straight
NEXT EVENT  Saturday, April 1
Weekly Racing Series

Gallardo Doubles Up - Wins Mod Main; Extends B-Mod Win Streak To Four Straight

April 24, 2021  |  by Chris Stepan

El Paso night at the Vado Speedway Park was held under 80* and sunny skies with 97 competitors on hand for the five-division program.

The largest field of Claimers of the season took the green flag in the first feature of the night with 20 racers vying for the top prize. An extra bonus was added to first and second place by track sponsor S&J Automotive as well. The event got off to a rocky start with a grinding crash on the opening lap that took out nearly half the field. Once the mess was cleared and racing action resumed, 11th starting Cole Turner raced forward and took the lead from Layne Sanchez and began to distance himself from the field. 14th starting Ryder McCutcheon raced his way forward as well and appeared in second before the mid-point of the 15-lap event. Turner was able to survive a caution plagued event to hold off McCutcheon for his first career feature win. Jamie Torres, Kristen Denman and Jeremy Dubois rounded out the top five.

Sergio Chao and Daniel Lozoya paced the Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mod feature field to the green, but the event was an all-Gallardo feature, as 10th starting Jake, who was looking for his 4th feature win in a row, and 20th starting Fito quickly raced to the front of the field and began to duke it out for the race lead. Greg Gorham, Jesse Haynie and Lucas Ward were racing hard inside the top five for the first half of the race, but just as the Claimers were, the B-Mods had their share of caution flags, which shifted the top five after Ward, Sherman Barnett and John Carney were involved in a crash. Jake Gallardo kept pace out front and lead the field to the checkered for his fourth consecutive feature win, with Fito crossing the finish line in second. Gorham raced home third ahead of Hayne and 16th starting Mingo Jauregui completing the top five.

The Johnstone Supply Southwest Super Trucks were up next on the running order saw drivers working from deep in the field to get to the front in a hurry. 14th starting Brian Kleine was the first to get through traffic and appeared in the top five early in the race, working his #21k flawlessly around the speedway on his way forward. Todd Froats, Lloyd Duffey and Sherman Barnett battled inside the top five for the majority of the race, while 13th starting Christy Barnett and 11th starting Rusty Bowen were on the move as well. As lap wound down, Kleine ran clean out front and raced to his first win of the season with Duffey crossing the line in 2nd. Christy Barnett came home third with Rusty Bowen and Devan Smith capping off the top five.

The Sunset Grill USRA Stock Car event was another caution-plagued event, but also saw many drivers work from deep in the field to record top five finishes. Michael Zimmerman and Xander Parra sat on the front row and lead the field to green before 11th starting Jason Josselyn charged from the tail after an early spin and pit stop to the lead and began to drive away out front. 12th starting Bryan Bennett followed Josselyn through the field and raced to the runner up spot and as laps wound down, he began to pressure Josselyn for the top spot. Josselyn slipped up in turn one and spun his #74j, bringing out the caution late in the race, handing the lead to Bennett, which he was able to hold onto for his first win of the 2021 season. 14th starting Shane McNutt rallied to cross the line in second with Josh Reynolds third, Jed Smith fourth and 15th stating Fred Gibson fifth.

The final event of the night saw 22 Rancho Milagro USRA Modified racers take to the track for their 25-lap nightly finale. Tom Georges and Ricardo Olague Jr. made up the all-El Paso front row on El Paso night and Georges was able to lead the field into the first set of turns when the initial green flag flew. It didn’t take long for 3rd starting Jake Gallardo to race from row #2 into the top spot and begin to drive away in his #J17. Once he got out front he took off, while Bumper Jones, who was gunning for four straight wins, quickly raced into second and set his sights on Gallardo out front. Carlos Ahumada Jr, Fito Gallardo and Royal Jones were in a great battle inside the top five for a handful of laps before Gallardo snuck by and joined the battled for second with Bumper Jones. Fito was able to work his #G17 well on the bottom of the speedway and overhaul Jones for second and begin his pursuit of his son out front. Jake was solid with the lead though and raced to Western Tech victory lane for the first time in his Modified this season with Fito crossing the line second. Ahumada Jr came home third with Jones and 21st starting Mark Smith, who had a great run forward, fourth and fifth respectively.

Full results:

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this Saturday, May 1st with another Hot City Nights event, featuring $5 admission for fans who have a valid id from Anthony or Chaparral. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit