NEXT EVENT  December 9-10, 2022
Vado Speedway Park Christmas Village

Sanchez Spins to Win Claimer Main While Rivera Rallies from 21st to Top Mod Field

Print this page
April 4, 2021  |  by Chris Stepan

The Vado Speedway Park in Vado, NM hosted it’s first EggggggStravaganza Easter Celebration event on Saturday night, April 3rd with an appearance by the Easter Bunny, an Easter Egg Hunt and a massive Candy Toss for the kids highlighting the off-track excitement, but the on-track excitement is what stole the show as the five-division program did not disappoint!

After qualifying races were complete, the Claimers took to the track first for their 15-lap main event, which saw Ray Abbott jump to the lead from the outside of the front row and lead early with pressure from 5th starting Cole Turner and 7th starting Scott Sullivan early on. Turner took command and lead Sullivan and Abbott early until 14th starting Daniel Sanchez Jr raced his #173j into the mix and began to pressure Turner for the top spot. Sanchez and Turner raced side by side for the top spot for several laps until Turner got loose and lost several car lengths to Sanchez. The race continued until Sanchez got into lapped traffic and spun his car entering turn three, but he was able to keep control, do a complete 360 and hold the lead, which he held to his first win at Vado. Turner rallied to cross the line in second with Sullivan, 15th starting Carlos Garcia and opening night winner Ryder McCutcheon rounding out the top five.

The Super Trucks were up next on the running order and had one of the best races of the night. 7th starting Devan Smith and 2nd starting Rusty Bowen put on a thrilling race for the lead for the majority of the 20-lap event, running side by side around the track for multiple laps in a row, with Sherman Barnett hot on their heels. Smith was able to complete the pass on Bowen and take command late in the race and hold on for the win with Bowen and Brian Kleine second and third. 15th starting Javie Chavez and 14th starting Christy Barnett rounded out the top five.

The next main event was the 25-lap POWRI 360 Non-Wing Sprint Car feature, which saw Rick Ziehl and Robert Marfia lead the field to the green. The 20-car feature field thundered around the Vado Speedway Park with two and three wide racing action until an abrupt halt to the event occurred early when Ricky Holden got upside down violently on the front stretch. He was uninjured, but was done for the night. On the restart, 7th starting Devon Amos raced his #41 car into contention and assumed command and was able to hold off Don Grable out front to pick up the $1,200 victory. Derek DeMartino raced from 13th up to 3rd, while 11th starting Colt Treharn bested Ziehl for fourth at the line.

The USRA Modifieds were up next with Terry Tipton and Christy Barnett on the front row. Tipton jumped to the lead at the start of the main, with Xavier Ortega quickly moving in to pressure for the top spot. Ortega took the lead from Tipton, only to have Nathan Smith wrestle the lead away, with Bumper Jones in hot pursuit. Jones raced hard into turn three and made contact with Smith, causing a multi car crash, eliminating Jones from competition and sending Smith into the work area for repair. Ortega took back over the lead and raced out front with Josh Cain providing pressure. Suddenly, 21st starting Nick Rivera and 14th starting Mark Smith appeared into the top five and Rivera quickly blasted around the outside of Ortega to the top spot and never looked back. Rivera raced to a comfortable victory over Smith, Cain, Tipton and Royal Jones, who both rallied from the tail after being caught up in an early race altercation.

The Legends were the final event of the night and raced from green to checkered with no cautions throughout their 20-lap main event. Zach Rodriguez took early command and lead the majority of the feature until 8th staring Aydan Saunders rolled by on the top to take the lead and drive off to the victory. Rodriguez settled in for second with Peter Smith racing from 10th to 3rd, ahead of Dave Smith and Jacob Masterson in the top five.

------>  Full Results  <------

The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action this coming weekend with its first multi-day event of the season. The Winter Meltdown returns on Friday and Saturday night with two complete shows for USRA Modifieds, B-Mods, Stock Cars and Legends. Pits open at 4pm with the grandstand opening at 5 and racing beginning at 7:30pm each night.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online by PayPerView at www.WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com