NEXT EVENT  December 9-10, 2022
Vado Speedway Park Christmas Village

Deetz, Moseley, McCutcheon visit Vado victory lane for first time

Print this page
March 20, 2021  |  by Chris Stepan

The state-of-the-art Vado Speedway Park kicked off it’s 2021 season after a 14-month layoff on a beautiful Saturday night, March 20, with a five-division program for the eager fans in attendance. A hungry group of 88 competitors descended on the facility for the first time since January 2020 when the track last hosted an event prior to the COVID-19 pandemic.

After qualifying was complete, the Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mod main event was the first feature of the night, and of the season, and saw 6th starting Jake Gallardo quickly work his way to the front and take control early in the 20-lapper. Gallardo, Rob Moseley and Dustin Smith battled early for the lead as they worked through lapped traffic. The event went green for the first 18 laps, until a caution appeared, which collected Gallardo, ending his bid at the opening night win. Moseley inherited the lead and went on to lead the final two circuits for his first ever win at VSP. Smith held on for second with 10th starting Justin Allen crossing the line third, followed by Greg Gorham and 16th starting Mingo Jauregui finishing in the top five.

Ten-year-old Ryder McCutchen won his qualifying heat race earlier in the night and earned the outside of the front row for the night’s 15-lap RacerWebsite.com Claimers main event. McCutcheon jumped from the outside of the front row into the lead at the drop of the green flag and never looked back en route to leading flag to flag and putting his #5 into Western Tech victory lane for the first time in his young career. Kelsie Niehoff ran second with Josh Reynolds II, 12th starting Cole Turner and Gabriel Ledesma rounding out the top five.

Christy Barnett, fresh off major neck surgery, parked her No. 44 American Documents & Dent Works Super Truck in victory lane for the first time during the 2021 season by leading the majority of the 20-lap main event. Barnett took the lead from polesitter Lloyd Duffey on the start and drove off into a comfortable lead over the first few circuits, but several early race cautions kept the field close. Once the race got back to green, Devan Smith pressured Barnett out front and took the lead just past the midpoint of the event but Barnett proved to be up to the challenge and raced back by Smith to the lead and held on for the victory. Smith crossed the line in second with Duffey third, Russell Allen fourth and Jason Privette coming home in fifth.

The Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Winged Sprint Car main event had several cautions on the opening lap, but once the race got started, fifth-starting Royal Jones took control around the bottom of the Vado Speedway Park and drove off while most eyes were on 23rd starting Wes Wofford, who was quickly charging through the field on his way to the front. The field stayed bunched up as Jones worked his way through lapped traffic out front, with Wofford working into the top ten before the half way point. Wofford continued his way through the field and appeared in the top five with just under ten laps to go. A late race restart put McCutcheon just behind Jones on the restart, but Jones was up to the task and raced to his first win of 2021. Wofford completed his 23rd to 2nd run, finishing ahead of Lorne Wofford, Derek DeMartino and Vance Wofford, who also rallied from the tail after an early race altercation.

Veteran racer Dave Deetz used patience, throttle control and the middle groove of the Vado Speedway Park to race his No. 01 Anthony Sosa Roofing Late Model from his fourth starting spot to race to his first ever Late Model feature win at VSP. Sam Alonso paced the field out front early until Deetz rolled past him on a restart and never looked back. Alonso ran second with 8th starting Eric McNutt third, rookie Brandon Cruse fourth and Donnie Newcomb rounding out the top five.


The Vado Speedway Park will be back in action Saturday, March 27, at 7:30 p.m. with the track’s first ‘Hot City Nights’ promotion where fans from Vado, Berino, Mesquite, Santo Tomas and La Mesa are admitted into the grandstand area for just $5 with a valid ID. Rancho Milagro USRA Modifieds, Miller Horse Farms USRA Stock Cars, Hacienda Carpet & Tile USRA B-Mods, American Documents & Dent Works Super Trucks and Pugs Graphics INEX Legends Cars will be in competition. Pits open at 4 with the grandstands opening at 5.

For fans not able to attend in person, all events held during the 2021 season at the Vado Speedway Park will also be live streamed online at WatchFYE.tv.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com.