NEXT EVENT  December 9-10, 2022
Vado Speedway Park Christmas Village

Grable Grabs Vado’s 360 Non-Wing Sprint Car Title; Plans Repeat Run In 2020

Print this page
April 22, 2020  |  by FYE Motorsports Promotions

42-year-old Don Grable grabbed the top spot in the 2019 Vado Speedway Park Non Wing Sprint Car track points chase at season’s end, capping off his 20th year of Sprint Car Racing – and 36th year overall – by finishing in the five in every Non Winged event that the track held throughout the course of the inaugural season, garnering the title over Las Cruces, NM racer Rick Ziehl. Don’s 2019 season consisted of 5 feature wins along with the POWRI Non Wing Championship to cap off a very successful run. 

Don has been behind the wheel of a Sprint Car for the past 20 seasons, and has raced to several championships before, including the 1986 West Texas / Southern New Mexico Pee Wee title; the 2008 El Paso Speedway Park and Southern New Mexico Speedway track championships, along with the Renegade Sprint Car Championship, plus the 2016 Southern New Mexico and Border International 305 titles as well.

Don got his start in racing much earlier that when his Sprint Car career began however, as his dad Don Sr. got him started out in the Motocross racing ranks from 1986-1999 before deciding to tackle Sprint Car racing beginning in 2002. When Don is not behind the wheel of his #148, he spends time building championship winning engines and serving as crew chief for many of the sport’s top names including Christopher Bell, Kyle Larson, Dave Darland, Tim Schaffer, Travis Rilat, Tim Crawley, Robert Ballou and most recently won the ASCS National Crew Chief Championship with Aaron Reutzel. 

Don, who is the owner and operator of Lonestar Racing Engines in El Paso, is eyeing his second straight championship at the Vado Speedway Park during the 2020 season as he plans to drive a non-wing Sprint Car for Budlong Motorsports as well as his own car occasionally around the Southwest. 

Grable’s cars are XXX and Maxim Chassis, powered by Lonestar Racing Engines. He is supported on and off the track by his girlfriend, her kids and his pit crew, which consists of Victor Colorbio, Sammy Franco, Mike Wells, Loran Bustamante, Milo Johnasen and Kevin Hibdon.

The state-of-the-art Vado Speedway Park, located in Vado, New Mexico opened in June of 2019 and held a total of thirty events during between the June 14th opener and the November 30th finale. The track will enter its second season in 2020 with over 30 events planned for its sophomore year.

Anyone wishing to see Don in action during the 2020 season can go to www.VadoSpeedwayPark.com and click on the schedule tab for event dates, ticket prices and other information.